THE HEALTH PHYSICS SOCIETY

An Affiliate of the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA)

PROSPECTUS

The HEALTH PHYSICS SOCIETY (HPS) is a professional organization whose mission is excellence in the science, practice, communication, and application of radiation safety and protection. HPS activities include encouraging research in radiation science, developing standards, and disseminating radiation safety information. HPS members are involved in understanding, evaluating, and controlling the potential risks from radiation relative to the benefits. Our vision is that HPS will be the home for radiation safety and protection specialists and the trusted source of information for the safe use of radiation and management of radiation exposure.

The strategies we employ to accomplish our mission are as follows: (1) promoting the science and sound practice of radiation safety and protection, (2) providing resources to support and advance member careers, and (3) ensuring HPS is the trusted source of expertise in radiation safety and protection.

HPS serves its members, the public, and the radiation protection profession through the following core activities: (1) advocating for and disseminating scientifically sound radiation safety and protection information, (2) supporting academic programs and students, (3) providing professional development and mentoring for radiation safety and protection professionals, (4) publishing *Health Physics/Operational Radiation Safety, Health Physics News*, HPS.org, and RadiationAnswers.org, (5) collaborating with other radiation protection organizations, and (6) hosting technical meetings, workshops and networking opportunities.

The Society is the largest radiation protection society in the world, with members in over 40 countries, and has established 38 chapters in the United States, 2 chapters in non-US countries, 16 student branches, and 12 technical sections. The membership of the Society is divided into two general subdivisions—Voting Members and Nonvoting Members. Voting members are entitled to hold office in the Society. Dues are set each year by the Board of Directors. Application forms for membership are available from the office of the Executive Director and on the HPS website.

The official publications of HPS include the monthly journal *Health Physics*, the periodic journal supplement *Operational Radiation Safety*, and the electronic newsletter *Health Physics News*. The Society edits *Health Physics* and *Operational Radiation Safety*, the official journals of HPS and the only journals devoted exclusively to the field of health physics. *Health Physics* and *Operational Radiation Safety* are available to nonmembers at a moderate cost. *Health Physics News* is an email newsletter sent twice a month to all HPS members. It notifies members of news that has been posted on the website, including meeting notices, technical news, editorials, book reviews, and chapter, section, committee, and agency and organization news. Archives of the newsletters are posted in the Members Only section of the HPS website. A subscription to all publications of HPS is included in the yearly membership dues. HPS also maintains a website (HPS.org) that provides the most current information about HPS, including public-education materials, official positions of HPS, and a Members Only area.

HPS is affiliated with the International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA). HPS also maintains close working relationships with the American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP), the American Board of Health Physics (ABHP), the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP), and other professionally related societies and institutions. As an affiliate of IRPA, HPS lends support to the promotion of health physics activities

throughout the world. As the secretariat for ANSI Committees N13 (radiation protection) and N43 (radiation-producing equipment), HPS is provided with a mechanism to contribute toward good practices in radiation safety through the development of national standards.

HPS holds an annual meeting each summer. Information on the annual meeting, and other meetings sponsored by HPS, is on the HPS website and in the official HPS publications or may be obtained from the office of the Executive Director. These meetings include presentations on research and practical experience of specialists in radiation safety and exhibits of radiation safety equipment and services.

HPS recognizes both members and nonmembers for their contributions to the field of health physics. The Elda E. Anderson Award is presented each year to an outstanding young member of HPS for excellence in research or development, discovery or invention, or other significant contributions to the profession of health physics. The Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award recognizes outstanding contributions of fundamental significance for the profession. The Founders Award recognizes members for exceptional contributions to the advancement of HPS or the field of radiation safety and protection. The Robley D. Evans Commemorative Medal recognizes scientific achievement and other accomplishments as exemplified by the late Professor Robley Evans. The Distinguished Public Service Award acknowledges outstanding contributions to the profession of health physics while in public service or service to the general public that significantly contributes to the relationship between the public and the health physics profession. The Geoffrey G. Eichholz Outstanding Science Teacher Award honors a teacher who has made significant contributions to educating students in topics related to the field of radiation safety. The National Student Science Award recognizes outstanding contributions by students in grades 6–12 to the understanding of the applications of radiation and its impact on the environment and health. Senior members of the Society who have made significant administrative, educational, and/or scientific contributions to the profession of health physics are awarded the status of Fellows of the Society. The Health Physics Honor Roll posthumously honors HPS members who significantly contributed to the profession of health physics during their careers, but were not otherwise honored by the Society during their lifetimes. In addition to these individual awards, the Society also provides numerous lectureships, scholarships, and travel grants in support of health physics activities.

OFFICERS OF THE SOCIETY

President: Elizabeth Brackett Secretary: Tim Kirkham Treasurer: Kendall Berry

Treasurer-Elect: Mike Mahathy Executive Director: Brett Burk

Board of Directors

Elizabeth Brackett, Chairman of the Board, 2023 and 2024

Mike Boyd, 2024 Shaheen Dewji, 2025 Derek Jokisch, 2026 Angela Leek, 2025 Tanya Palmateer-Oxenberg, 2026 Adela Salame-Alfie, 2024

FUTURE HPS MEETINGS

2024 IRPA 16th International Congress 7–11 July 2024, Rosen Shingle Creek, Florida In conjunction with the 69th Annual Meeting of the HPS